Who Accepts Conservation Easements / How Do I Get Started?

Ovenbird
Ovenbird by Theodore Staengl.

Interested in donating an easement? Give us a call. PEC is a private nonprofit land trust whose knowledgeable staff can guide you through the easement donation process and provide you with up-to-date information on tax incentives.

In Virginia, easements can be donated to a number of public and private entities. The majority of conservation easements in Virginia are held by the Virginia Outdoors Foundation (VOF), which is a quasi-state agency. In some cases, the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, the Virginia Department of Forestry, or a local county government may be the best entity to accept your easement. PEC staff will work with you closely to evaluate your options and help you choose the right easement holder for you and your land.

For further information, contact us at:
540.347.2334
easementinfo@pecva.org

Or reach out to the PEC land conservation staff person covering your county:

Culpeper County
Maggi Blomstrom
mblomstrom@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7067

Fauquier & Rappahannock Counties
Claire Catlett
ccatlett@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7060

Orange & Madison Counties
Peter Hujik
phujik@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7062

Clarke & Loudoun Counties
Tracy Lind
tlind@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7066

Albemarle & Greene Counties
Rex Linville
rlinville@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7064

Director of Conservation
Michael Kane
mkane@pecva.org
(540) 347-2334 x7063


What is a Conservation Easement?

What are the Public Benefits of Conservation Easements?

Why Should I Donate a Conservation Easement?

What are the Tax Benefits?

Easement Packet for Landowners