Working Farms and Food

Buy Fresh Buy Local Work Session


Loudoun, Northern Piedmont, and Charlottesville Chapters

Piedmont Environmental Council has been a Buy Fresh Buy Local (BFBL) chapter coordinator since 2007.  Over that time, our three BFBL chapters have grown to include over 600 farms, farmers' markets, retailers, restaurants, wineries, and specialty food producers all committed to our local food system.

In January 2013, PEC BFBL partners met for the first ever Buy Fresh Buy Local Work Session.  Partners created nine action groups; and each generated an action plan to guide the work together on a particular topic over the next twelve months.  PEC is facilitating these action groups as they evolve and progress on their own terms.

At this time, eight of the nine working groups are open to other BFBL partners--below you can find the topics list and contact information for group members.  Any BFBL partner is encouraged to get in touch with a group if they are interested in a topic.

 


 
(1) Purchasing Bulk Non-GMO Finished Feed
**March 2013 Update: This group has successfully begun bulk purchasing and delivery of feed through the Culpeper CFC Farm & Home Store
 
Group members:
Kit Johnson, La Bella Terra, jhnstnkt[at]aol.com, 540-547-2317
Lisa Corbin, Center Street Farms, lisacorbin[at]msn.com, 540-987-8255
Mike Sczuka, Center Street Farms, mikesczuka[at]gmail.com, 540-987-8255
Barry Jacobs, Too Many Paws Farm, farm[at]tmpf.net, 540-829-6367
Stephen Day, Oak Shade Farm, stephen.edward.day[at]gmail.com 540-229-5199
Margaret Hutcheson, Sunrise Gardens/Madison Eats Food Club, mfhutch3[at]vabb.com, 540-543-2220
Kevin Summers, Crowfoot Farm, thecrowfootfarm[at]gmail.com, 540-937-4490
Katherine Adams, Stallard Road Farm, stallardroad[at]gmail.com, 540-522-3417
Meg Campbell, Croftburn Market, croftburn.farm[at]gmail.com, 540-825-9044
Ed Dunphy, CFC Farm & Home Store, edunphy[at]cfcfarmhome.com, 540-825-2200
 

 
(2) Mobile Processing Unit for Exempt Livestock
This group is researching regulations related to a moblie or fixed poultry processing unit and coordinating operations among small scale poultry producers.
 
Group members:
Patty Johnson, Pannill’s Gate Farm: patty[at]pannillsgate.com, 540-229-5185
Harold Woodward, Hawk Hollow Greenhouse & Farm, hrwsaw[at]yahoo.com, 540-948-4886
Meredith Kope, Singing Frog Farm/The Goodstone Inn, mkope[at]goodstone.com, 571-212-5625
Jeff Adams, Walnut Hill Farm, jvadams[at]verizon.net, 540-809-4271
Jennifer Sisney, Landon Farm, runningcedar[at]hotmail.com, 540-923-4310
 

 
(3) Social Media Marketing: Using Facebook to Gain/Retain Customers
**February 2013 Update: This group has met a second time with PEC to discuss how to use Facebook to market their business.  Any information about social media seminars or events are being forwarded to the group.
 
Group members:
Steven Schwartz, Local Flavor, steven[at]localflavor.tv, 540-923-4796
Jim Fleming/Kate Mahanes, Whistlin Hollow Farm, katemahanes[at]hotmail.com. 540-456-8212
Meg Campbell, Croftburn Market, croftburn.farm[at]gmail.com, 540-825-9044
Ben Stowe, Meadow Green Farm, stowe.benjamin[at]gmail.com, 540-987-3187
Pam & Jimmy Jarrell, P&J Greenhouse and Garden, pjjarrell2[at]juno.com, 540-948-5309
Reid Cook, Rocky Knoll Homestead, info[at]rockyknollhomestead.com, 540-937-4205
 

 
(4) Developing Relationships between Producers and Retail Markets
This group is putting together a networking event for buyers and sellers of local products. They have organized a tasting to market value-added at new outlets, including a local winery.
 
Group not open to new members at this time!
 

 
(5) Developing a Co-op of Local Farmers to Deliver Products to Consumers
This group is considering developing a multi-farm CSA in the Northern Piedmont region.
 
Group members:
Malou Ditchel, Farmcolony, malstark[at]aol.com, 434-985-6530
Bill Dichtel, Farmcolony, wdich[at]aol.com, 434-985-6530
Shawn Bear, Farmcolony, hedensksed[at]gmail.com, 540-894-0653
Wendy Oien, Oakhenge Farm, wloien[at]aol.com, 540-522-8283
 

 
(6) Educating Consumers about Local Food: Seminar Series
**March 2013 Update: Plans for a seminar series to take place at Rebecca's Natural Food in Charlottesville are in the works to begin Spring 2013.  The group is currently putting together a speaker list and seminar dates.
 
Group members:
KeriAn Dodson, Rebecca’s Natural Food, rebnat[at]mindspring.net, 434-977-1965
Bill Calvani, Rebecca’s Natural Food, groc.rnf[at]gmail.com, 434-977-1965
John Whiteside, Wolf Creek Farm, john.whiteside[at]wolfcreek-farm.com, 540-948-5574
Susan Vidal, Brightwood Vineyard and Farm, svidal[at]huges.net, 540-717-2165
 

 
(7) Increasing Web Outreach of Farmers Markets
**March 2013 Update: This group is connecting with farmers' market managers in order to better promote and increase consumer traffic at their market.
 
Group members:
Diana Boeke, Glean Acres, LLC, farmerdi[at]gleanacres.com, 571-251-7828
Erick Kalenga, Bountiful Acres, Erick[at]hisvillage.org, 540-729-7330
Theresa Klopp, Carmel Acres Farm, greggandjane[at]carmelacres.com
 

 
(8) Developing a 'Local Logo' to Identify Local Products at Farmers' Markets
**February 2013 Update: The group has contacted farmers' markets to get information on their local product 'regulations' and gauge interest of using a 'local logo' for Madison County.
 
Group members:
Shirley Ammon, Haywood Honey, info[at]haywoodhoney.com, 540-923-5075
Tilton & Gwen Pugh, Burning Bush Jam, gwenpugh[at]dish.net, 540-832-1765
Steve Sanford, Hollerfolk Nursery, hollerfolk[at]gmail.com, 540-923-4400
Khalil Hassan, Gardens of Khmet, bluedome1[at]gmail.com, 540-923-5121
 

 
(9) Creating Entertainment and Activities List for Farmers' Markets
**March 2013 Update: This group is looking for bands, chefs, entertainers, organizations, etc interested in performing or giving demonstrations at farmers' markets to increase attendance
 
Group members:
Reid & Kerrie Cook, Rocky Knoll Homestead, info[at]rockyknollhomestead.com, 540-937-4205
Tom Hennaman, Culpeper Downtown Farmers Market, crievents[at]culpeperdowntown.com

 

Sign Up

Get PEC Email Alerts

  • Keep informed on the topics that matter to you. 
  • Find out if there are letters to send or petitions to sign!